Designing SAW on COMSOL is much reliable and easy

Hi,

Earlier works of mine included SAW modeling on VHDL-AMS. However, AMS does not support frequency domain modeling because DAE’s used by AMS are not sufficient to  describe such models. So, in my equivalent network for SAW, I have replaced the characteristic impedance terms by lumped LC networks using Foster’s method. Now, I can easily Model my device on AMS.

After completing the analysis on AMS, I have tried to redefine the MEC model so that the second order losses can be minimized. We have modified the crossed field model to consider the effect of change in velocity due to metallization. Split Electrode IDT structure was also successfully implemented using the above method.

Many researchers have been working on designing SAW filter by combining High Frequency Structure Simulator (HFSS), coupling-of-models (COM) and Advanced Design System (ADS). HFSS is employed to investigate the parasitics of package and die busbars, while COM is employed to obtain the acoustics model. Then, their results are imported into ADS to get total response.

I have worked out the model on COMSOL multiphysics (Version 4.0) which implements FEM analysis. COMOSL uses the MEMS module which considers all the PDE’s required to define acoustic waves in isotropic/anisotropic solids. Frequency response has been successfully implemented on COMSOL for uniform IDT structure.

About shavarna

I am weird, unattractive and nerdy. I love Cheese.
This entry was posted in Surface Acoustic Wave Devices. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment